Leadcore trolling

HookedUp1

Leadcore trolling

Post by HookedUp1 »

Ok, things have been kinda slow on the website so let's get some discussion going about "Leadcore" -- I use #18 weight
When trolling leadcore with crankbaits & spinners, I'll use somewhere around a 30' mono or flouro leader. I'm not sure why 30' :? --just saw it on some fishing show. :roll: I will tie the leader and leadcore to a small barrell swivel #16 or #18 if I can find them. Have not tried tieing leadcore directly to the leader material but will try it this summer. ;)

How about y'all,
What weight leadcore do you use?
What methods do you use to tie leadcore & leader material?
How much leader do you use?
Do you use the same length leader in a river and lake?
Do you use different length leader for spinners vs crakbaits?
Do you use the 5' depth per color formula to know where your bait is running?

I am not very good at trolling. I find myself going back to what I know best, jigging and rigging. I would appreciate any help you can give about leadrcore trolling. :D

HookedUp1
handline1

Re: Leadcore trolling

Post by handline1 »

Lead core is type of fishing that takes a little time to learn. I do run it a lot on the river for some of the best sheephead hits you will find!
I run 27 lb line with a double the rod length of 30 lb power pro leader, 8 foot rod 16 foot leader, 14 foot rod 28 foot leader.
Run out line till you hit bottom and crank up a few times and go.

Everyone is different, but the best way to learn something new is to put you lead core rods in the boat for a least two weekends and keep the jig rods at home! Remember you learned how to jig fish with a jig rod in your hand not a line counter and shad rap.
Don't worry you will still catch sheephead and donate a bunch of 8 dollar baits to the river to pass the time!

MV
dbonwell

Post by dbonwell »